ILA Quality Standards

Independent livings facilitate a group of adults living together as a family, and provide a safe affordable home for people in Santa Clara County. Each home is as individual as the people who live in them.

The ILA Quality Standards were developed by the Independent Living Association Work Team and are recommended as best practices for independent livings.

Eight attributes of a quality independent living:

  • Clean, safe and well-maintained housing

  • A clear statement of policies is explained and made available to tenants prior to lease signing

  • Clear grievance procedures and opportunities for tenants to positively influence their environment and remove unhealthy influences

  • An environment that respects the privacy of the tenants

  • An environment free of any type of abuse or discrimination that requires all tenants to be treated with dignity, consideration and respect at all times

  • Concerned and competent Operators and Tenant Liaisons

  • Clearly outlined amenities that are consistently and fairly made available to all tenants

  • A tenant focused living environment